Guide tourist place which important in Thailand 76 provinces include map Hotels and guest house in thailand The important days and festival in thailand. Delicious thai foods. Information of airline company that's with you come to thailand. Services about traveling.

Kalasin (Thai ????????) is one of the provinces (changwat) of Thailand, located in the North-East of Thailand. Neighboring provinces are (from north clockwise) Sakon Nakhon, Mukdahan, Roi Et, Maha Sarakham, Khon Kaen and Udon Thani.


Most of the province is covered by hilly landscape. In the north is the Lam Pao dam built 1963-68, storing 1,430 million m³ of water for flood prevention and agriculture. The Lam Pao reservoir effectively cuts the northern part of the province in half but there are car ferries connecting the district of Sahatsakhan in the east with the district Nong Kung Si in the west, saving up to one hour off the journey by road. On the northwestern creek of the reservoir a road bridge now connects the village of Ban Dong Bang in the west with the district town of Wang Sam Mo in the east. Although the bridge was constructed several years ago (pre 2000) it is not featured (2006) on any commercially available road maps. Making the border with Sakhon Nakhon Province is the Phu Phan mountain range, which is preserved as a national park.

Kalasin is famous for the dinosaur fossils found at Phu Kum Khao (Sahatsakhan district), the largest dinosaur site of Thailand. Most of the fossils are from Sauropods of 120 million years ago


Kalasin is an agricultural province producing sticky rice and other cash crops such as manioc and sugar cane. The families are generally poor in this essentially rural area and make ends meet by producing the silk for which the region is also renowned and basketry.


Archeological excavations showed that the Lawa tribe already lived in the area in prehistoric times 1600 years ago. However, the first town was founded in 1793. The province was created in 1959 when it was split off from Maha Sarakham.


The seal of the province shows a pond in front of the mountains which form the boundary of the province. The water in the pond is black, as the name Kalasin means "black water". The big clouds as well as the water symbolize the fertility of the province.
The provincial flower is Payorm or Sweet shorea (Shorea roxburghii), and the provincial tree is Sa-mae-san (Cassia garrettiana).

Administrative divisions

The province is subdivided into 14 districts (Amphoe) and 4 minor districts (King Amphoe). The districts are further subdivided into 134 communes (tambon) and 1509 villages.

AmphoeKing Amphoe
  1. Mueang Kalasin
  2. Na Mon
  3. Kamalasai
  4. Rong Kham
  5. Kuchinarai
  6. Khao Wong
  7. Yang Talat
  1. Huai Mek
  2. Sahatsakhan
  3. Kham Muang
  4. Tha Khantho
  5. Nong Kung Si
  6. Somdet
  7. Huai Phueng
  1. Sam Chai
  2. Na Khu
  3. Don Chan
  4. Khong Chai

Read : 789737
Thailand Travel DB : Big database for travel in thailand
Design Template & Control By Thai Nation Network Group